Employers - Projects



How do I edit a project after bidding starts?

Changing your original project description after bidding starts is not allowed because freelancers base their bids on your description.


You may, however, put additional information, skills, and upgrades on your description to help freelancers better understand the project. You may want to consider this if you've forgotten to include some details of the work required or you want to change the instructions on your description. To know more, clik here.

How do I put additional information after the bidding starts?

To add information to the description of your posted project, you can follow these steps:

  • Log in to your Freelancer.com account.

  • Click My Projects.

  • Select the Employer view.

  • Select the Open for Bidding tab.

  • Locate your project from the project list.

  • Click the Action dropdown button, then select Edit.


You can also edit your project directly on its main page. Just click the ellipsis icon (...) next to the Management tab and select Edit. To know more, click here.


The existing project description cannot be removed nor edited. Your additional information will be posted along with the existing description. You can upload additional file attachments while editing as well. 

How do I invite a Freelancer to bid on my project?

To invite a freelancer, just go to their profile page, click the down arrow next to Hire Me, select Invite to Project and choose the project you want to invite them to.


You can look for freelancers based on skills, country, or ratings through the Browse Directory page. To know more, click here.

How can I ask questions before selecting a Freelancer?

You can send a private message (PM) to discuss any detail with potential freelancers. To send a private message, follow these steps:

  • Log in to your Freelancer.com account.

  • Click My Projects.

  • Click the title of your project to go to its main page.

  • Click Chat on the bid of the freelancer you want to contact.


A chat window will open once you click the Chat button. If the freelancer is online, they will be able to view the chat window and reply to you. If they are offline, your message will be saved in their Inbox, and they can access it once they log in to their account. To know more, click here.

How do I award a freelancer?

When you're ready to award a freelancer or freelancers, follow these steps:

  • Log in to your Freelancer.com account.

  • Click My Projects

  • Click the title of your project to go to its main page.

  • Click Award on the bid of the freelancer you have selected.


The chosen freelancer will have 36 hours to accept or reject the award before the offer expires.  To know more, click here.


When the project is accepted, project fees will be deducted from the employer and freelancer and the project's bidding will be closed. 


For some tips on choosing the best freelancer, we recommend reading this article: How to Select the Right Bidder

Do I need to have sufficient funds in my account to award a freelancer?

No, you don't need to have the funds on your account before you award a freelancer. However, freelancers may request you to put up a Milestone Payment in part or in full before they start working. It is your discretion if you wish to create a Milestone Payment right after awarding your project.

How do I cancel a project?

To cancel a project, follow these steps:

    • Log in to your Freelancer.com account.

    • Click My Projects.

    • Click the title of your project to go to its main page.

    • Click End Project (End Billing if your project is hourly).

    • Select "My requirements have changed and I no longer require this work to be done" on the confirmation popup.

    • Click Submit.


Projects that still have a pending Milestone Payment or invoice cannot be cancelled until the payments are settled or cancelled first. To know more, please click here.


Please be aware that we do not refund project fees. It's our part to introduce the two parties but the project's success still lies only between the employer and the freelancer.


If your project has not been awarded yet and you no longer want to continue it, you can close the project instead. To do this, just go to the project's page, click the ellipsis icon (...) and select Close.

How do I delete a project?

When a project is deleted, no one will be able to view the project, its file attachments and any of its bids. The deletion removes the project from search engines the next time they re-index our site. It costs only $5 USD.


To delete a project, follow these steps:

  • Log in to your Freelancer.com account.

  • Click My Projects.

  • Select the Employer view.

  • Locate your project from your project list.

  • Click the Action dropdown menu for the project, then select Delete.

  • Click Yes to confirm that you agree with paying $5 USD to have the project deleted.


To know more, click here.

click here to search the FAQ...